System 5: Dolomiti Settentrionali/Nördliche Dolomiten

Croda dei ToniCroda dei ToniThis core zone, which includes four major areas the Sesto/Sextner Dolomites - Cadini area, the Braies/Prags - Fanes/Sennes and Tofane area and the Mt. Cristallo area and the Cadorine Dolomites is delimitated to the north by the Val Pusteria/ Pustertal and the Sesto Valley, by the Val Badia/Gadertal to the west and it extends south along the Valley of S. Cassiano to Passo Falzarego and to the NW portion of the town of Cortina D'Ampezzo, to the east by the Padola torrent, to the southeast by the Piave Valley and to the southwest by the Boite Valley. The Sesto/Sextner Dolomites - Cadini area represents the most northeastern part of the Dolomites and it's characterized by spectacular and well known dolomite massifs that lift from rocky plateaux with heights of over 2.000 meters: the Tre Cime di Lavaredo/Drei Zinner (Cima Grande 2.999 m), the Gruppo di Rocca and Croda dei Baranci/Haunold-Birkenkofel-Gruppe, Cima Dodici/Zwölfer Kofel (3.094 m), Croda Rossa/Sextner Rotwand (2.936 m), Punta Tre Scarperi/Dreischusterspitze (3.152 m), Cima Undici/Elfer (3.092 m), Cima Bagni (2.983 m), the Popera Group, Croda dei Toni (3.094 m) and the Cadini di Misurina (Cadin di S. Lucano 2.839 m). This area is separated to the south, from the Mt. Cristallo area, by the D'Ansiei Valley and the Landro Valley separated it to the west from the Braies/Prags - Fanes/Sennes and Tofane area. A large part of the Mt. Cristallo area is within the Ampezzo Dolomites Natural Park, where the Cristallo (3,221 m)dominates; other major peaks are the sub-groups Pomagagnon to the south-west, Piz Popena (3,152 m) south-east and the internal channels of the Val Grande- Val Padeon, Val Fonda and Val Popena. The northwestern and central part of this core zone is the Braies/Prags - Fanes/Sennes and Conturines and Tofane, whose main peaks are: the Lagazuoi crest (2762 m), M. Cavallo/M. Ciaval, M. Vallon Bianco (2684 m), Conturines/Piz dles Conturines, La Varella / Piz d'la Varela to the west; Tofana di Rozes 3225 m, Tofana di Mezzo 3244 m, Tofana de Inze 3238 m, Col Bechei (2603 m), the plateaux of Senes and Fosses as far as the Croda del Beco/Seekofel/Sas della Porta (2810 m) and the Croda Rossa d'Ampezzo/Hohe Gaisl (3146 m). This very extended area also has a little appendix, extending EW, in the southwestern part that correspond to the Sett Sass (2,571 m) and to the Piccolo Sett Sass, also known as the Richthofen Reef in honour of the great Austrian geologist. The southeastern area of this system is dominated by three main massifs: the Sorapis occupies the north-western sector, the Marmarole are in the north-east and the Antelao is the south. The Antelao peak is at 3.264 m (second highest in the Provincia di Belluno after the Marmolada) and dominates to the south the Boite Valley from S. Vito to the Cadore Valley. Across the deep and isolated Val d'Oten we reach the Marmarole chain. This, extending E-W whose major peaks are: Bel Prà (m 2.917 a.s.l.) (Cimon di Froppa 2.932 m) and Ciastelin (2.570 m). In the Sorapis sub group we can identify to the north, the Alpe Faloria as far as the crest PuntaNera - Cime Marcoira, the Sorapis peaks, the Caccia Grande, the Tre Sorelle, all above 3.000m of altitude, the Col del Fuoco and Croda Marcora dominating north the town of San Vito di Cadore.

Lithological sketch representing the geometric relationships between geological units in the Dolomiti Settentrionali / Nördliche Dolomiten area.Lithological sketch representing the geometric relationships between geological units in the Dolomiti Settentrionali / Nördliche Dolomiten area.